Playing in the dirt.

Before and After

It must look as if I abandoned the blog, but I only went on vacation.  Several days away made a real difference in the garden, though, and I really appreciate my mother-in-law having kept it well-watered in my absence.  Heh.  “Well-watered.”  Because it’s well water.  I crack myself up.

Before pictures, taken on June 21:

Sugar snap pea sprout in garden soil.

Sweet pea.

.

Cucumber sprout in garden soil.

Baby cucumber.

.

Carrot sprout in garden soil.

Carrots finally began to sprout!

 

After pictures, taken on June 27:

Two cucumber sprouts in garden soil.

True leaves beginning to show on the cucumber sprouts.

The square where these cucumbers live actually sprouted both sets of seeds.  The other double-planted square of cucumbers has only sprouted one set of seeds, though, so I don’t even know.

Sugar snap pea seedling in garden soil.

Sweet pea, a little bigger.

.

Twelve French breakfast radish sprouts in garden soil.

Radish symmetry, French breakfast style.

Curiously, the French breakfast radish in each corner failed to sprout.  I find the symmetry oddly amusing.

A raised garden bed with sprouts and seedlings among a grid laid out with pink twine.

It’s starting to look garden-like!

I’m really pleased with how well things are turning out.  We should be able to begin to harvest lettuce and radishes in another couple of weeks.  My son and I split the very first produce, though, when I thinned out a few extra beet sprouts, and they were delightfully sour-green tasting, full of the promise of the eventual sweet roots.

 

 

Share a thought