Playing in the dirt.

Sticks and Wire

Thanks to Mr. Teaspoon, I have most of my building materials.  My expense total from the last tally was $95.82.

Today, we go wildly over budget, because shopping local lumberyards in my town apparently means spending four times as much for everything as is reasonable.  Now that I know it’s cheaper to fill the truck and drive an entire hour to the next town, buy my lumber, and drive home, next year’s bed materials will be purchased…not locally.

A pile of 1x2 and 4x4 lumber with hardware cloth, landscape cloth, and a bag of long gold deck screws.

Pickup sticks, anyone?

  • 6 – 4″x4″x8′ #2 & BTR @ 13.58/ea. for $81.48
  • 9 – 1″x2″x8′ furring strips @ 1.17/ea. for $10.53
  • 3’x12′ hardware cloth (1/4″) for $26.50
  • 3’x50′ roll of landscape fabric for $15.79
  • 1.75 lbs. of 4 1/2″ deck screws for $7.00
  • 50 #8 1 1/2″ deck screws for $2.97
  • sales tax of $8.66

That’s a total of $152.93, which adds to the previous total to bring my expenses to $248.75.  I still need the chicken wire for my topper, but that will be the last of the building materials.

Hopefully, the effort results in produce enough to off-set the costs!  I’ll be keeping a comparison tally of produce returns based off the prices of similar produce at the local big box store, major supermarket, and farmer’s market or small market prices.

Share a thought

