Playing in the dirt.

Inspiration

We’re having a family emergency right now that has interrupted work on the garden.  In the meantime, let me share a few of the blogs I’ve been reading for inspiration and some vicarious gardening over the past couple of years.

You Grow Girl by Gayla Trail

You Grow Girl is one of my favorite gardening blogs.  The writing and photos are interesting and the author has managed to grow some amazing things in less than stellar conditions.  Her success gives me some hope that I’ve got a chance to make something happen, too.

Squash’s Garden by Ursula Vernon

Yes, that Ursula Vernon.  The artist who wrote Dragonbreath and Digger and who sells (not-always-suitable-for-all-audiences) art at Red Wombat Studio.  She has a spirit of impulsiveness that I identify with, and I was delighted to find out that the author of one of my all-time favorite web comics was also an avid gardener with a desire toward organic methods and native plants.

Daily Farm (at Chickens in the Road) by Suzanne McMinn

I’d love to have a farm like Suzanne’s.  That’s not really in the cards for me, so I read about Sassafras Farm and daydream about maybe having a few laying hens one day.  Reading her blog is like stopping by to chat a bit with a favorite neighbor.

Voice for Reason by “Crusty”

Crusty talks about asparagus and tomatoes and lizards and birds and turtles and pumpkins and poppies and, on occasion, politics.  He’s got an eye for beautiful things and a philosophical bent that makes me ponder all manner of things.

Gardening Boise by Megan Sutton

The newest addition to my regular reading, I’m still getting a feel for this blog, but so far, I’m enjoying it.  It’s nice to read about gardening in a place with some similar climate challenges.

I expect I’ll be able to get some garden work done this weekend, but I can only hope that I’ll be able to get to planting at this point.  That’s probably okay, because they’re calling for a bit of snow tonight, and I’m just as glad I don’t have to be out in the damp wrestling a tarp over a bed of sprouts tonight.  Please enjoy the fine blogs above, and feel free to share your favorite garden links in the comments.

Comments on: "Inspiration" (2)

  1. Thank you so much for including my site in your list! I’m really glad we connected.
    I absolutely love You Grow Girl. Her books are great – they were useful when I was a beginning gardener and I still find them helpful a few years later.
    I recommend A Full Plate (http://karenish.wordpress.com). She writes some very contemplative posts that I enjoy reading.
    I dream about having a farm as well. I read the book Farm City about an urban farm in Oakland and it changed how I think about the concept of farming. Her site is http://ghosttownfarm.wordpress.com
    We need to do quite a bit of work in our garden to get going for the season and I’m a little overwhelmed by it! I don’t plan on planting until almost June, just to be safe, so hopefully we’ll have enough time to get things together.
    Good luck with your garden work in the near future!

    • Thanks for the links! I’ll check those out.

      A lot of what I’m planting this year is pretty short-seasoned, so if I can get the box assembled this weekend, I’ll probably go ahead and plant some of my more cold-tolerant seeds in the hopes that I get an early crop of salad fixings started. Worst case, I have to re-sow in a couple of weeks, but best case would be tasty.

      Since I’m planning rolling plantings of the lettuce, radishes and carrots anyway, I think it’s probably worth the gamble. I hope the weather cooperates with your preparations!

Share a thought

